New Jersey Child Custody Proceedings | Are Mothers Favored?

In the early and mid 20th century, the tender years' doctrine was a popular approach to child custody cases in all states, including New Jersey. This doctrine proposed that during the tender years of a child's life, i.e. four years old or younger, custody should only be granted to the child's mother. However, since the 1970s, these laws have been steadily abolished around the country and the Garden State is…Read More

An Annulment and a Divorce in New Jersey | What is the Difference?

The fundamental difference between divorce and annulment in New Jersey is that divorce terminates an existing marriage while an annulment is a legal decree that states the marriage never happened. Generally, New Jersey courts may, in limited circumstances, grant an annulment within 30 days of a marriage ceremony, even without cause. If you are granted an annulment, you are free to marry again immediately. Although most couples choose divorce, an…Read More

Do You Have to File for Divorce in the Same State as the Marriage?

If you received a marriage license in one state but live in another, please read on, then contact one of our experienced contested divorce attorneys in Bergen County, NJ to learn if you have to file for divorce in the same state as the marriage. Can you file for divorce in a different state than where you and your spouse married? The short answer is yes, but it is more…Read More

What To Know About A Default Divorce in New Jersey

When one spouse, i.e. the plaintiff, serves the other, i.e. the defendant, with divorce papers, the defendant has 35 days to reply. If he or she has not responded within those 35 days, the plaintiff can ask the court for a default divorce within 60 days. Since members of the United States military are protected from default divorces, the plaintiff will have to verify that the defendant is not a…Read More

Saving Money in a Divorce in New Jersey | What You Should Know

The average divorce in the Garden State costs between $4,500 and $5,000, but only if there are no contested issues. Having one dispute can jump the expense to $6,500 to $7,500 and two or more contested issues can set you back $11,000 to $13,000. As you can see, divorce can be expensive. But it does not have to be. How then might you save money during a divorce? The answer…Read More

Does New Jersey Have Bird’s Nest Custody Arrangements?

First off, you may be wondering what bird's nest custody is. Basically, each parent takes turns staying in that residence, i.e. the bird's nest, with the minor child. Bird's nest custody differs from more traditional schemes where the child is shuttled back and forth between the two residences maintained by his or her parents. In short, it is a way of living that enables the minor child to remain in…Read More

The Dos and Don’ts of Child Custody in New Jersey | What You Must Know

If you require assistance in maintaining custody of your child, please read on, then contact one of our experienced child custody attorneys in Bergen County NJ to learn the dos and don'ts of child custody in New Jersey. What should you do in a child custody case in New Jersey? Judges in the Garden  State will factor in the child's age, gender, characteristics and background as they decide on custody.…Read More

Tips For a Low Conflict Divorce in the State of New Jersey

In the best interests of your children, as well as yourselves, you and your spouse have decided to have a civil, low conflict divorce. But how do you manage that? If you need help dialing down the tension, please read on, then contact one of our experienced collaborative divorce attorneys in Bergen County NJ to learn some tips for a low conflict divorce in the state of New Jersey. What…Read More

Adoption in New Jersey | Some Frequently Asked Questions

Regardless of the type of adoption you choose, the process is an invasive one. To ensure that the child will be placed in a happy, healthy and stable environment, your life will receive close scrutiny. For example, you may be required to participate in training courses, background checks, home visits, reference checks and more. If you would like to undertake this process, please contact one of our experienced adoption attorneys…Read More

How Do You Enforce Child Support in the State of New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, the age of emancipation is 18. Until that time, and sometimes beyond it, circumstances permitting, both parents are expected to support their children. Unfortunately, your former spouse has made the decision to not fulfill their financial obligation as dictated by the state's Family Court. If you require assistance in making sure that your former spouse meets his or her financial obligations, please read on,…Read More

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

  •  What Happens To Student Loans During The Divorce Process?
  •  What Should I Consider When Hiring A Lawyer For My High-Net-Worth Divorce?
  •  What Are The Most Common Financial Mistakes During A New Jersey Divorce?