Regardless of whether you are the custodial or non-custodial parent, please read on, then contact one of our experienced child support lawyers in Bergen County, NJ to learn the answers to some of the frequently asked questions about child support in New Jersey.
What are people asking about child support in New Jersey?
As you proceed through the child support court process, you no doubt have many questions. Take comfort in the fact that you are not alone. Some of the most common questions regarding child support in New Jersey are as follows:
- How does the court set the amount of your child support?
- How long does child support take to process in New Jersey?
- Can you get a copy of the Guidelines?
- Where do the numbers on the Guidelines charts come from?
- How does the court decide what your fair share of child support is?
- Why does the court not ask about expenses?
- Do the Guidelines apply to everybody?
Some answers about child support in New Jersey?
First of all, under New Jersey law, both parents must financially support their children. The court uses the parents’ combined net incomes to determine how much support the non-custodial parent should pay to the custodial parent. The custodial parent is the one who has physical custody of the child. Since the court presumes that the custodial parent will naturally spend their income on the child, it may appear that the non-custodial parent pays more. This is not necessarily true. The percentages of combined income per child are as follows: 17 percent for one child, 25 percent for two children and 29 percent for three children.
Generally, payments start about two weeks after the order is entered if the non-custodial parent pays as directed. Once the account is set up, payments will be processed and sent within two working days after the state receives the payment.
Can a Bergen County child support lawyer help you?
Reaching out to one of our skilled Bergen County NJ family law and divorce attorneys to discuss your next steps can make all the difference in whether or not the involved parties come to an equitable solution. A seasoned legal professional will explain this complicated process so that you understand your rights. Do not go it alone. Give us a call today.
Contact our experienced Bergen County firm
At Townsend, Tomaio & Newmark, our attorneys have extensive experience helping clients to understand and protect their legal rights before, during, and after the divorce process in towns across New Jersey and Bergen County, including Hackensack, Ridgewood, Paramus, Teaneck, and Fort Lee. To speak with our team of divorce lawyers today in a free and confidential consultation regarding your concerns about your divorce, please contact us online, or through our Hackensack, NJ office at (201) 397-1750.